New Member December Spotlight: Tracy McPeck

Tracy’s Job:  Youth Services Librarian at Prince William Public Library System.

I am a full-time youth services librarian who is also the chair of my library system’s social media committee. I perform the stuff typical of a children’s/teen librarian, as in programming, reader’s advisory, collection maintenance, etc. In my “spare” time, I like to rile things up by inventing new projects.

TRACY MCPECK: Youth Services Librarian at Prince William County Public Library System

TRACY MCPECK: Youth Services Librarian at Prince William County Public Library System

What is a thing (or two) you like about your job, or about working in libraries in general?

I love that every day in the public library is different and stimulating, and that it all revolves around books, information, and helping people.

Are you working on any special projects, papers, serving on an interesting committee, or working on something you want to share?

I am the head of social media for my library system, and am working on setting up a Goodreads presence in the next few weeks. Currently, we’re on Facebook, Pinterest, Tumblr, and Twitter. At VLA, I presented on visual merchandising with my esteemed colleague Kati. I’m also passionate about customer service, having managed retail for twelve years before becoming a librarian, and have presented my spiel at VLA as well as to other library systems. I’ve also been invited to serve on the 2015 VLA Annual Conference Planning Committee, so that should be fun! I am always open to making new connections, and would love to hear what other libraries are doing regarding social media, customer service, merchandising, and everything else under the sun.

What was your first job in a library?

I first volunteered in technical services for Central Rappahannock Regional Library, and my first paid position was as a computer assistant. Thankfully, I soon branched out into circulation and adult/youth services, and then landed a full-time youth services position with Prince William.

Favorite Virginia Library?

Prince William Public Library System (am I allowed to say anything else?). And a shout-out to my first library system, Central Rappahannock.

What is one of the best things about VLA?

I love to read! Er, I mean, I love information, not just books. Which is true. But I’ve been a bookworm since I was a little kid, and it was my experience managing bookstores that led me to libraries. Specifically, it was the going-out-of-business layoff from said bookstore that prompted me to suffer through the GRE and go to library school. Well worth it!

What is one of the best VLA programs or events you have attended, or what is something of value about VLA that you think other members should know?

The VLA Leadership Academy (VALLA) was extremely valuable. I had just graduated library school when I attended in 2012, and although I was still in a paraprofessional position at the time, I found it informative and fun, and welcomed the opportunity to network with those already in management positions and with more experience than me. Also, it helped me give birth to SMILE, the customer service workshop I mentioned before.

Goal you would like to achieve within the next five years:

I plan to be in an administrative position within the next five years. Preferably one that doesn’t chain me to a desk 24/7.

Connect with Tracy:

Twitter: @librariansmiles
Tumblr: librariansmiles.tumblr.com
Pinterest: pinterest.com/librariansmiles
Instagram: @librariansmiles
Vine: @librariansmiles
Facebook
LinkedIn
Goodreads

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

