VLA New Member November Spotlight: Kayla Payne

KAYLA PAYNE: Assistant Reference Librarian at Staunton Public Library

KAYLA PAYNE: Assistant Reference Librarian at Staunton Public Library

Kayla’s Job: Assistant Reference Librarian at Staunton Public Library, Staunton, VA.

Supervises library staff and facility; Provides reference, Internet and computer assistance, readers’ advisory, inter-library loan through OCLC WorldShare, and young adult programming.

What is a thing (or two) you like about your job, or about working in libraries in general?

I like watching people have that “aha!” moment when I help them figure out something about library resources and/or technology. I also enjoy meeting people with varying interests and helping them find information.

Are you working on any special projects, papers, serving on an interesting committee, or working on something you want to share?

I am currently working on my VALLA project, which involves training staff on mobile library resources. I have just started giving my “Ten Minute Tech” presentations during our monthly staff meetings. I covered the FindItVA app from Boopsie in October, and I will be presenting on OverDrive in November.

What was your first job in a library?

My first library job was working as a student assistant at the James Madison University Music Library during my senior year.  My experiences there sparked an interest in applying to graduate programs in library science.

Favorite Virginia Library?

The Staunton Public Library, of course!

What is one of the best VLA programs or events you have attended, or what is something of value about VLA that you think other members should know?

The Virginia Library Leadership Academy was great not only for developing leadership skills, but for networking and exchanging ideas among peers. Each person has to complete a project within a year, and we were given time to brainstorm and discuss project ideas with the attendees and facilitators. We are also given mentors from other libraries to guide us on our journey through proposing and implementing our projects. My “Ten Minute Tech” training mentioned earlier is my VALLA project. Anyone interested in learning about how to be an effective manager should apply for the 2016 Academy.

Goal you would like to achieve within the next five years:

I hope to find a full time library job somewhere in Virginia, attend state and national library conferences, and start a blog. I want to develop my writing and book reviewing skills.

Contact Kayla:

Twitter: @kaylap90

LinkedIn

Goodreads

Do you want to be featured next, or want to nominate a colleague?  Fill out the form!

This entry was posted in networking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

