Elections: Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect candidate

Candidate: Cammy Koch

Current job title: Reference Librarian, Chesterfield County Public Library

Professional biography & statement of purpose:

I started my career working as a page for CCPL in 2008. I’ve worked my way up through circulation to my current position as Librarian at the Chester Branch in Chesterfield County. I’m actively involved in running storytime at my branch as well as working in Chesterfield’s MakerSpace. I finished my degree at Drexel University in 2013 and I’ve been a member of Virginia Library Association since 2009. I presented at VLA Paraprofessional Conference in 2014 and Annual Conference in 2013 and 2014.  I currently hold the positions of Student Representative for NMRT and Conference Chair for Local History, Genealogy and Oral History Roundtable.

When I was in college, I never dreamed that I would become a public librarian. As it turns out, this profession is more than I could ever ask for. I’m so lucky to work not only in a field, but also a library system, which allows for so much diversity and growth. My interests range from childhood literacy development, to digital preservation and archives, and to Makerspaces. I embrace whatever opportunities come my way and enthusiastically encourage the same in my colleagues. I think the VLA New Member Roundtable is the perfect environment to harvest such opportunities.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

