2013-2014 is going to be legendary.

Hi everyone! It’s my first blog post as Chair of the VLA NMRT, and I’m feeling a little like:

Image

Mostly excited, though.

Part of my job is to come up with goals for the Forum, and while I have a few lined up, I really need your help coming up with more. Here’s what I have so far:

1. To establish a mentoring program for VLA similar to ALA NMRT’s program. This is one that I’ll need lots of help with, since I haven’t participated in ALA’s program. We’re starting this from the ground up, so we have a lot of say over how it will work in Virginia.

2. To reinvigorate our regional socials. We have lots of new NMRT members who want to help out with socials- it’s a prime opportunity to set some guidelines for this program and get our members together to network and socialize more regularly.

3.  To increase our blog, Twitter, and Facebook posts. I want this forum to be a place where everyone in VLA can interact. I especially want to increase our outreach to library school students in Virginia.

4. To have the best annual VLA conference ever in 2014.

What else do you think we should be focusing on this year? I’m completely open to suggestions, so email me at ktucker3@radford.edu with your feedback.

I know I speak for everyone on the leadership team when I say thank you for being involved in the forum and inspiring us constantly. We are all really looking forward to working with you this year!

-Katelyn

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

