VLA NMRT Forum election – Vice Chair/Chair-Elect candidate

This post is the last of our candidate bios and statements for the fall 2012 VLA NMRT election. Stay tuned to this space for voting information; the ballot will open Monday, 10/22 and remain open through Tuesday, 10/23.

Candidate: Katelyn Tucker

Running For: Vice Chair/Chair-Elect

Current Job Title: Instruction Librarian, Radford University

Professional Biography: My library career began my freshman year of high school when I took a part-time job shelving juvenile books in the Pittsylvania County Public Library. Since then, I have been a volunteer, student employee, paraprofessional, and professional in public and academic libraries all over the state. After finishing my MLIS through Florida State University’s distance education program last year, I moved to Christiansburg to serve as an Instruction Librarian at Radford University.

Statement: Following my big move across the state, VLA NMRT events provided opportunities to meet other librarians and library staff members in my new town. Being a new librarian is scary, but these events made me feel like a part of the local library community and gave me a whole new group of mentors. After each event, I felt empowered, invigorated, and happier than ever to be a part of this profession. As Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect, I will work hard to promote the NMRT forum, increase membership, and ensure that this valuable community continues to enrich the lives of Virginia’s wonderful new librarians.

About bluestockinglibrarian

Anglophile, bibliophage + unabashed bluestocking. A teaching + learning librarian at Virginia Commonwealth University, a co-founder of the Virginia Library Association's New Members Round Table, immediate past president of the ALA New Members Round Table, and ALA Councilor-at-Large.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

